Mama Bear Reads: A Madness So Discreet



A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

*This post may contain affiliate links*

"Mindy McGinnis, the acclaimed author of Not a Drop to Drink and In a Handful of Dust, combines murder, madness, and mystery in a beautifully twisted gothic historical thriller perfect for fans of novels such as Asylum and The Diviners as well as television’s True Detective and American Horror Story.

Grace Mae is already familiar with madness when family secrets and the bulge in her belly send her to an insane asylum—but it is in the darkness that she finds a new lease on life. When a visiting doctor interested in criminal psychology recognizes Grace’s brilliant mind beneath her rage, he recruits her as his assistant. Continuing to operate under the cloak of madness at crime scenes allows her to gather clues from bystanders who believe her less than human. Now comfortable in an ethical asylum, Grace finds friends—and hope. But gruesome nights bring Grace and the doctor into the circle of a killer who will bring her shaky sanity and the demons in her past dangerously close to the surface."



 I've been thinking about this review ever since I finished this book. The hangover effects from this are pretty long lasting. I wasn't quite sure what to expect from this, but man-this was an amazing read.

First, look at that cover. It's GORGEOUS, is it not? There are so many ways to interpret the cover and how it pertains to the story, but it does. Trust me. This is a book about mental illness and this cover speaks volumes to the plot.



I was sucked into A Madness So Discreet from page one. There isn't a time where Mindy's writing isn't just completely drowning you. There was a point where the entire story began to shift and I was pissed. I thought it was turning into a genre I typically don't like to read-but I pressed on and was pleasantly surprised. Mindy has an amazing way with words, and she can completely flip you around in the story and leave you with your mouth wide open.

I'll be honest, some parts of this had me in tears. It touched a little too close to home and I think that's why it was hard for me to review this, yet this is one of my favorite reads from this year. Although the story was a bit painful, the characters were absolutely amazing! Mindy MADE you feel what they were feeling, and there were a few that I just fell in love with. There's a major twist that I didn't see coming and felt like my heart had been ripped in two.

Just read it, dang it. It's dark but there's so much truth and hope within these pages. It's just a beautiful story, unlike anything I've read in a long time.

Yours is a story whose events happen more often than are told. Tales like these belong to the black, do they not? Where they can't be seen or heard. But I can smell it out quick like the devil.

View all my reviews






No comments

Oh how I love to hear from you guys! Go ahead-talk to me!

Back to Top